It’s not the modeler…it’s something else that determines the endresult.

AFKAEjay

Roadie
I’ve used genelec 8010s for years now. (10?) Was happy with them…decent speakers, not to shabby reviews from studioworlds...very petite though.
one of them broke down…I decided to replace instead of repair…and got me the same model…but 3 sizes bigger..the 8040.
In 5 minutes…listening to my own tracks…if I had owned these speakers while making those mixes/dialing those sounds…I would have made other choices. So..my reference monitors…even between 2 sets of very good ones…determine my endresult…probably even more then what modeling I use. I always thought so…but not to this degree.

Question is…will it change for the better from now on. Other mixes sound better on the 8040…so in theory I’m gonna make better choices from now on regarding sound/mixes.

I've been using the same set of Genelec M040 monitors for about 7 years now. They were kind of like a budget version of the 8040 back in the day but still not cheap by any means. Different design, marginally less accurate, different set of inputs and EQ adjustments. Reviewed very favorably in various places.

I think this might be the reason why I haven't had that many issues with modelers from various brands. I don't consider myself some wizard of a player or expert at operating these things so why am I getting tones that I enjoy but some seem to really struggle with the same gear?

During that 7 year period, I've owned, in no particular order, the following modelers:
  • Fractal Axe-Fx 2
  • Fractal Axe-Fx 3 (currently own)
  • Fractal FM3
  • Line6 Helix Floor
  • NeuralDSP Quad Cortex
  • Strymon Iridium (owned one, sold it, bought another one recently because I found uses for it)
  • Yamaha THR100HD
I got great tones out of all of these going straight into the Genelecs.