This might be the end of tubes for me

Baba

Shredder
Idea taken from metro's thread, lol.

1. Honestly though, I've been playing without an amp for a couple of months now, doing my "stereo guitar in my IEMs IN ADDITION TO the bar's wedges" thing, which has always worked for me. Wedge acts like a passive radiator of sorts, and produces soundwaves I can feel, (and hear, a little), and my IEMs provide all the sweet mids and highs, and stereo FX. Also, not everyone in the band uses IEMs, so it provides stage volume for them.

My age and patience is definitely coming into play, more and more as each month/year passes for me gigging. My age tells me to pack/take the absolute smallest and lightest gear possible to do my thing, and my patience tells me to bring the same, so I'm not spending 10 or 15 minutes setting stuff up and tearing it down. That means an all-in-one unit on the floor, and using the house wedges, or my own, if/when I need them, which brings me to muse/point #2:

2. I borrowed a friend's Alto TS408 for my gig last weekend, it did it's job, with ease, and sounded pretty good actually, BUT, I recently traded a guitar locally, for a JBL IRX 108bt, and with limited testing/comparing at home, I like the JBL more. It's a tiny bit bigger, even though both have 8" woofers, so it sounds bigger, and it's less harsh. It's also lighter, so, win/win.

I figure, at this point, with the advent of the tube preamp pedals like the Revolt and IR-X, and the IR capability of my HX devices, if I ever "need" to go back to the tube stuff, I can do it all on the floor, and I don't need a cab to do it, but, that will be diminishing returns, at best.

I tell you; your band with you being the only guitarist especially means you can do what you want without worrying about blending in with another player. Beyond your obvious skills. You get great results and if you don't need to bring the rack fridge with you to kill it at a gig; that's awesome in my book \m/