Tuning issues after changing Floyd Rose saddles

icicle22

Hello all. First post but I've been playing and doing maintenance on my own guitars for 40 years and I am having an issue that I cannot quite figure out. Here is the scenario.

I have a Washburn Nuno Bettencourt N24 that I bought new back in May. It is not top of the line but I didn't have the dinero for the full N4 experience. Even though this guitar lists at @$1099 it still comes with a Floyd Rose Special. I always planned on upgrading it eventually. But about a month ago, the high E string slipped from the saddle while I was playing. I decided it was time to do something.

I have a brand new old stock Schaller Floyd Rose from the 90s sitting around. It's the one with the zinc alloy base and replaceable knife edge. I do not love that. It does however have hardened steel saddles just like a real floyd rose. I read that the base on the FR Special is also hardened steel but the saddles are zinc alloy. So, you can probably see where I am going.

I swapped the real hardened steel saddles for the zinc alloys...so I have a FR special baseplate with hardened steel saddles. I placed the saddles in the exact same position as the ones that removed....to the best of my ability. It should have been really close. I didn't set the intonation initially and when I played....you could tell. I ultimately had to set the intonation manually, and I was a little surprised at how far I had to slide some of the saddles forward to get it intonated. It seemed odd since the string gauge hasn't changed. I will say that the saddles from the Schaller seemed as though the area where the string rests across sit a little lower....not the body of the saddle but just where the string sits....like the mold it was made from was just a little different. I am not talking about the different sized saddles for matching the radius here. I'm just talking about the shape.