Switching from Windows to Mac

Achilles

Rock Star
I don't use a DAW or play video that requires ridiculous graphics.

Here's the 17" laptop I've been using for the past 6 years:

1724113541692.png

I'm using about 140 Gig on drive C: and another 325 Gig on drive D:

I want to switch to a Mac system where I buy one of their cubes and then add a monitor and keyboard.

Suggestions?

But with which cube?
The best one you can afford. Macs are a bit shit for external display support so the lowest tier model won't do well with some high end displays despite what the specs say, so that might reduce their future compatibility.

I'd look at used or refurbished M2 Max models and see if the price is right.

Also get the memory and disk space you need as those are not upgradeable. Which is also why I don't touch the desktop models and prefer the laptops. At least it's somewhat justified on those.

A Mac Mini should be absolutely fine, no need for anything fancier. Second lowest baseline model /w 8GB RAM and 512GB SSD should be fine.
If you can, get a 16GB RAM model. And don't go for the 256GB SSD models because those will defenitely be too small in the longer run (system fills up and it's recommended to not use much more than 80% on an SSD, plus they gradually lose some capacity).

Over here, you can find the 2023 model with the 16/512 combination for around 800 2nd hand.

Note: For any typical daily life work, even 8GB of RAM will be sufficient. But who knows, maybe one day you would like to do some DAW stuff (which I'd recommend to any musician anyway). Or you'd like to get into video editing a bit more. After all, macOS comes with some things for free (Garageband but also iMovie), making it very easy to check these waters. So I'd tried to find something with 16GB RAM.