Mass IT Outage. Is it affecting you?

Piing

Shredder
I just went to register a online medical claim on Cigna, but I cannot login. I check the news and I see that there is a worldwide outage affecting airlines, banks, media, trains, health services, 911 emergency service... Windows kaput with Blue Screen of Death due to a Crowdstrike security update.

I'm using a laptop with Windows, but no issues here. I have disabled automatic updates, though, because that is one of the recommendations when using a DAW.

How is it going there? Have you find yourself affected?
art design 90s GIF
Windows Error GIF

As far as TGF and the Axe-FX are alive, everything is business as usual.

This Is Fine GIF

Last edited:
I work as a consultant doing web development (user interfaces, APIs, cloud stuff, test automation, mobile development...). My employer is an agency providing consultants for our clients.

Our company started using Crowdstrike a few months ago and there was a lot of pushback from us employees. The primary concerns from us employees were privacy and performance. Unfortunately every service like this that I have ever reluctantly had to install has turned out to be a nightmare that causes more issues than it solves.

The premise behind adopting it is sound: security compliance with clients. As a company, we need to be able to show that we are doing everything to make sure sensitive client data is not leaked out.

As consultants we can choose which laptop we use. Most of us use Macbook Pros, where the problem doesn't occur. But there are some who prefer Windows and they have basically not been able to work today.

Some of our people have complained that even on Mac, Crowdstrike has started hogging a lot of CPU cycles for no good reason.