Am I really going back to ITB with Helix???

dk_ace

Roadie
Maybe? Probably?

I’ve run an extra board in the loops of the helix for a pretty long time now. It started with me wanting better reverbs and adding a Ventris (awesome) to the rig. It grew from there to include a Teese wah and the mxr poly blue octave. I always wanted a Teese, ordered one just to check it out and found it to be really sweet. I can get the helix very close to it but not quite as sweet and the sweep is different. The mxr octave is a cool pedal and frees up dsp from the poly fx on helix. It has all worked great, but it’s extra gear to carry and setup time (not much, but I’m lazy). Also, two of those loops are in front of my amp models, and they add noise. Last weekend prepping for a gig I realized how much clearer things sound without that extra noise.

So… I was still cool with the extra board and I like my tones and the flexibility of the rig. Last night, I started playing with the helix reverbs just for fun. The dynamic hall setting I had worked with before got tweaked a little more and it was sounding really amazing. A/b’d it with my main Ventris sound (which I based on my meris m7), and the dynamic hall sounds every bit as good and there are some things I even like better about it. Big deal I tell myself, the spring sounds in Ventris smoke the helix. So I switch over to my favorite spring setting and mess with helix against it. I can get it 97% there (there was one thing I had never tried that was the “secret” to getting it right)…. But, I tell myself, xyz weird reverb sound I use 4x a year maybe live sounds way better on Ventris… nope, could get those on the helix too. The new reverb work they’ve done is really some great stuff if you pay attention to how to tweak them and have some other things to a/b against.