What Are The Pros & Cons of Various DAWs, for a Total Newb?

TSJMajesty

Rock Star
Including cost, ease-of-learning, ease-of-use, computer needs (I have 2 laptops- are there any specs you would need to know other than below?), and especially things that a guy who's new-to-digital-recording might not even think to ask.

Atm, I'm only looking for a way to record guitar, not necessarily record an entire song, but that may come later.

My desires would be:
  • Easy to learn
  • Quickly able to record just a guitar track with maybe a basic beat (I don't have drums)
  • Simple way to edit the beats, like for example, if I wanted to move the kick drum an eighth beat sooner in each measure
  • Not so intensive it would tax my laptop: Win10 64bit, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-1035G1 @ 1.00Ghz 1.19 Ghz, 12 gig RAM, touch screen, 238 gig SSD, USB 3.1; other one is Win7 64 bit, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4800MQ @ 2.70Ghz 2.70Ghz, 256 gig SSD, 16gig RAM, USB 3.0. (The Win7 machine isn't on the internet due to Windoze 7 no longer being supported for security, but I may upgrade the OS if it seems that would be the better one to use...?)

I've never used DAW software at all. Help a brother out please.

Reaper.
"Free".
Easy to learn.
Excellent community forum where you'll get help in case you can't Google the solution out.
Extremely easy on the PC, the whole installation is something like 50 megabytes.
Despite all that, it is fully capable and developed DAW which will do absolutely everything you need for home recording (and much more).

You don't need an interface with Axe FX no matter which one you choose.

Axe Fx III is you soundcard then.
I use Steinberg Cubase, I think the lowest Element is like 100 dollar

I have only used Cubase, but maybe others have some time with some free DAW`s. I`m sure folks will help
It`s a bit to learn when recording stuff. But Youtube is a good learning pal :giggle: