Fractal Cab Block Preamp?

Stone

Rock Star
Howdy all, seeing as you all know I'm quite new to the Cracktalverse and was wondering about why would there be a preamp in a cab block?
does it have to do with the microphone portion ? I do use it and found it to improve the tone (Tape35us), but I'm kind of clueless as to why and what
Do any fractal users here use it ?

Thanks all for your input and clarification

It's for simulating the preamp in a mixing board, from what I can tell. The first Van Halen album, e.g., had some mic preamp distortion on it, if I'm not mistaken. The Beatles ran tones direct into a mixing board and overloaded the preamp. I think it's nice to increase the saturation and level until you can hear it start to get gnarly, then roll back. And the BMT knobs in that section are unbelievably powerful too, in that they can really affect the tone too much of you're not careful. They're a great way to add an overall frequency shift, but for me I might go half a decibel with those.

Beyond mic preamp distortion, just subtly playing with the different types of mic preamp models definitely adds character to your tone. Traditionally engineers would have an understanding of the subtle ways a particular mixing board would sum the signals and add its own character. Try increasing saturation and gain until you feel a little warmth coming from the IR itself. It's another method of coloring the tone just beyond the mic in your IR, in a way that can greatly compliment it.