112 Tube Amps

CakeEater

Roadie
What are your thoughts on 112s? I've been in the digital modelling sphere for a few years now, but I recently bought a 112 Supro Keeley Custom 12. It's a 25W Class A tube amp, and I'm really enjoying it. Using my Helix as a pedalboard It's greatly simplified my workflow, and the tones are great.

It got me thinking that my two "FRFR" wedge monitors that I've been using for a few years are basically the cost of small tube amps. They're coaxial 12-inch wedge monitors and about €1000 each. At a certain point I thought to myself, why not just get a tube amp? It's about the same size and only a little bit heavier. The Keeley comes in at 18 kilos which is a breeze.

Because I'm enjoying it so much, I thought about maybe building a small collection of tube amps. But I don't really have an interest in getting anything bigger than a 112, which already seems manageable volume-wise and weight-wise. With my "FRFR" monitors I was using 212 or 412 IRs, but I have I have to say even as an open-back the Supro seems to have great lower mids, which really fills it out. That said, I don't gig that much, only a few times a year in pubs and churches. So, for people who use tube amps regularly, is a good 112 enough? I play mostly indie-rock, post-rock and P&W. All thoughts and opinions welcome!

What are your thoughts on 112s? I've been in the digital modelling sphere for a few years now, but I recently bought a 112 Supro Keeley Custom 12. It's a 25W Class A tube amp, and I'm really enjoying it. Using my Helix as a pedalboard It's greatly simplified my workflow, and the tones are great.

It got me thinking that my two ""FRFR"" wedge monitors that I've been using for a few years are basically the cost of small tube amps. They're coaxial 12-inch wedge monitors and about €1000 each. At a certain point I thought to myself, why not just get a tube amp? It's about the same size and only a little bit heavier. The Keeley comes in at 18 kilos which is a breeze.