So Who Was In Band, Back In School?

TSJMajesty

Rock Star
What did you play? Any good stories?

Talking about callouses...., I played the clarinet. Got really good at it...., was 1st chair, 1st clarinet in the MD Junior High All State Band in 9th grade. But it wasn't my first choice, and I grew to really dislike it. About the time I started playing guitar I asked my father if I could quit. He goes, "Yeah. Just as soon as you pay me back for all those private lessons." WTAF!!

So I kept on, until my parents separated, then asked my mother the same question (dad was out of the house at this point.) She was relieved, since she was having trouble making ends meet as it was.

You play the clarinet by supporting it with the side of your thumb, which had a hard callous. It took like, 2 years for that thing to completely go away!! (More like a corn by that time than a callous.) :(

I was a percussionist and played in wind ensemble, orchestra, marching band, winter percussion ensemble, and the theater pit orchestra. I also played drum set in jazz band. I was first chair in each and was invited to be the drummer in the top jazz band at the school.

Some of the best musical times of my life!

And then college came along and ruined it all :rofl

I was in jazz band my senior year of high school, they asked me....I couldn't read music, all they wanted ..no lie, was for me to play single note lines while I went wacka wacka with my wah wah. So ridiculous, but ...the bus rides were a trip. 🤣

I often think of dizzy looking down shaking his head ..."what the hell that damn boy playing?"

If only I had known of charlie Christian then ...I could have worked in some sassy octave lines.

Yep, my freshman year in Staten Island had a guitar class, I just cut classes and hung out there for the 9 months I lived there.