So I built a 212/115 cab

MadAsAHatter

Roadie
Though some of you over here would be interested. About a month ago I decided I wanted to build myself a new speaker cab. At first I was going to do a standard 412, but I already have a couple and wanted something outside the norm. I settled on doing a 212/115 cab. I'm a hobbyist woodworker but have zero clues about cab design. Without anything out there to copy I winged it with traditional 412 dimensions and hoped for the best.

I completely finished it yesterday and I'm pleasantly surprised at how it sounds There's not a whole lot to go over, but these are the specs:
  • All 3/4" 7 ply void free birch plywood except a front frame which is douglas fir.
  • 30"x30"x14"
  • Simple butt joint construction with full internal bracing
  • 2 degree tiltback on the baffle
  • 2 Weber Gray Wolf 12" ceramic and 1 Weber 15" Blue Dog Alnico speakers
  • 8 Ohm mono, 16 ohm Stereo split between the 2 12" and 15" speakers
  • No batting or stuffing inside
  • Lavender/White crocodile covering, black/gray grill cloth and purple metal skull badge
I haven't put it through the full paces yet, but have run a couple of my amps through it. Overall the cab sound massive without being overbearing in any way. It has a thick girthy low end with any mud or boomyness, a good midrange growl and cut, and upper end chime and clarity. The 12" Gray Wolves have the punch, cut and clarity. The 15" Blue Dog adds in the girth and growl while further adding to cut & chime. It all seems to blend in just right to produce a really full sound.

Don't have any sound clips yet. I'll try to get some to post later this week. Here are some pics of the build & finished product.

1665412928136.png
1665412946014.png
1665412970112.png
1665412986924.png
1665413016670.png
1665413070524.png
1665413099443.png
1665413117916.png

Last edited:
Damn, dude! Nice!!!!

That’s quality work, right there!

I built a pedalboard last year……it’s infested with termites. :rofl