PRS CU24 Pickup Changing Time - Help?

Warmart

Roadie
Yeah, we have a PRS pickups thread, but mine's intended to be a bit more focused.

My CU24 plays great, sounds fantastic acoustically, yadda yadda. The 85/15's have virtually 0 bass, and just sound odd/weak/shrill to me. Funny thing is, when I started playing guitar again, in 2019, I loved them - but as I got more guitars they were exposed! :hmm :brick

I generally play 80's hard rock/metal and some newer stuff like Mastodon. Already decided to go DiMarzio. My gut says Super Distortion and PAF Pro. Other options are D Activator-X, Sonic Ecstasy or Pandemonium. I know it's a tossup, just wanted y'all's thoughts.

Never had a Super D, and that alone may be the primary driver - but sooooo many people say it works great in everything, so there's that.

I may also replace the 5-way with a much easier to wire 3-way. Don't care about splits in this guitar.

Super distortion is way better than it gets credit for but these days I prefer paf output because you can always add gain easily these days. Paf pro is quite a low output and very good too so I think you are good to go with those.

Super distortion is way better than it gets credit for but these days I prefer paf output because you can always add gain easily these days. Paf pro is quite a low output and very good too so I think you are good to go with those.
My fear, with this particular guitar is that it may really need a kick in the pants. Could just be the 85/15's, but I really don't want to swap twice.

My gut says Super Distortion and PAF Pro

richard reid winner GIF by I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here! Australia

I will be going for the PAF Pro for my Revstar was going to go with the Super Distortion for my Ex DK24 but thats gone , was thinking maybe put the SD in my Ibanez but so far I'm really digging the Stock Hyperion's
Next guitar will get a SD in the Bridge for sure gotta have the classic Super Distortion in one guitar

:chef