What's everyone using for drums?

Jarick

Shredder
Curious what everyone's using for their drums, both for grooves and samples.

I've been using Logic Drummer to come up with grooves and fills, then exporting to MIDI and manually editing to fine tune. I don't love the sound of the Logic kits though. I have EZDrummer 3 which sounds better, but still not quite there. Looked at a bunch of expansions but at $89 not sure I want to roll the dice.

Picked up GGD One Kit Wonder Modern Fusion last night, and it took a couple hours to figure out how to set up Kontakt and the mapping and routing, but it sounds a lot better to me. Not quite as flexible but mix ready. Performance may be an issue though with my M1 Mac.

Superior Drummer 3 for the sounds and some grooves/fills, but I write about 90% of my drum tracks because I’m a wannabe drummer who plays guitar.

I haven’t used EZD3, but what me to cross grade from EZD2 was the drums already being EQ’d to hell and back, there’s only so much dicking with other EQ’s and compressors before they’re just mangled and further away from your goal. When I saw I could work with raw kits I impulse bought it and it’s one of the very few impulse buys I’ve made I do not regret.

You basically have Logic’s mixer and a bunch of plugins within SD3’s mixer, they’re powerful and they didn’t skimp on anything, to the point that I’m doing everything but parallel compression with the drums in SD3 and bouncing to a stereo track, instead of running every drum/mic to it’s own track in Logic and treating it with EQ/comp there. At most I setup the parallel comp on the entire kit and a separate room reverb that I often buss out the other instruments into very lightly to give some cohesiveness.

I use an Alesis SR-16 manually.

Meaning, I write out my parts, do each drum piece individually track by track, then mix them together.

All of my releases have been done this way since I don't have room where I live for any sort of real kit.