What Are The Pros & Cons of Various DAWs, for a Total Newb?

just enough to be dangerous

Hah!
Well, Logic seriously isn't too tough to get familiar with (which, fwiw, has been fundamentally different before at least Logic 8 - until then it's been a nightmare for starters and switchers), the tool tips are nice and the interactive manual you can reach through them isn't all that bad, either.
Also, once you have everything set up and running, don't hesitate to ask. Maybe we could start a little kinda interactive Logic thread (I even used to teach Logic for a while... might just be some language barriers, but we should get that sorted).

Can someone flip me a solid and recommend a great introductory logic YouTube video? I’m not afraid of the deep end as long as I get kind of walked into it lovingly 🥰

(I don’t want to sort through a bunch of bad s**t. Hopefully it’s not extemporaneous either.)

TIA! (no, not the TIA about Africa)
A tad long, but super well organized:

I don’t know how good this is, but someone I respect on another forum highly recommend it. It’s from Berkeley school of music and it’s free.

Last edited:
They will be rendered pretty much obsolete any day soon, though. In case you're not using it for anything else it might not be much of an issue, but as soon as you do, it will, at least one day. As an example, my old white plastic Macbook, while fully functional, while loaded with 1.5TB of diskspace (I ripped the optical drive out in favour of a second HDD) can't do much anymore. Runs Logic 9 pretty much like a champ but I can't even load the most un-fancy websites anymore, not even with some patched Firefox versions.
That's one of the major downsides of the Apple ecosystem - they can render any machine obsolete for no technical reasons.
Yeah, I got my money's worth out of the thing (same goes for the 2010 Mac Pro I'm typing this on), but especially these days I'd really love being able to use my computers for a bit longer.