Wazzup?? I'll Open Up With Something Controversial: What Guitarist Don't You "Get"?

That’s when they were good. Terry Glaze!!!
I have an obscure cassette from Terry Glaze Just found it again today but I don’t have a cassette player anymore.
IMG_1791.jpeg
IMG_1792.jpeg

I couldn't disagree more if you're talking being melodic and creative with I-IV-V blues.

*cough*

square_200@2x.jpg
derek-trucks-interview_fullsize_story1.jpg
Erick-Steckel-01.jpg

Just 3 out of more examples than you can count.

This highlights Andy's point, IMO. He's not saying it's impossible to be melodic/interesting with pentatonic, I-IV-V stuff, but it's so rare that you've got to use guitarists who made careers in their niche of being unique at what they do as an example of 'not the boring shit'.

This highlights Andy's point, IMO. He's not saying it's impossible to be melodic/interesting with pentatonic, I-IV-V stuff, but it's so rare that you've got to use guitarists who made careers in their niche of being unique at what they do as an example of 'not the boring shit'.

They may be 3 of the best at what they do but they are not even close to being unique. All three are playing versions of the blues with a very high level of creativity and technique but walk into and decent rock/blue club on any night and you'll hear someone who turns your head just as much.

There's a billion players who an rip through Eddie's Eruption with ease.
There's ten times that who can rip through Clapton's Crossroads solo with the same ease.

Last edited:
I'm catching up on the whole thread... Bare with me ;)

If I had a vajayjay maybe I would get John Mayer.

#shotsfired
I get people who aren't into his music, but the guy can really play...

Zack Wylde.

More like... Zack Why?
The first couple Ozzy albums I really liked Zakk. He was very melodic and even (dare I say) tasteful. And had the tones and chops, too.