The boom in modded Rectos

Desertdweller

Roadie
I noticed there's a bit of a boom in these recently, at least on social media. It's great to see my favorite line of amps getting some love from modders, I'm wondering how long it will be until Mesa decides to bring some of these ideas in-house. The Hermansson mods especially sound great to me, but granted these are YT videos and I haven't played one of these or heard them in the room. I think they're all doing roughly the same modification (though I'm a total novice inside an amp so take that with a grain of salt), and to my understanding its a fairly simple component change. I'm not about to try it myself, so getting one of these modded may be a good idea for some.

Ground Zero modded Triple:

Hermansson modded Dual Rec:

Classic Voodoo modded:

FJA Modded DR, shown off by Fluff:

KSR modded, btw check out Draven's channel, he's an awesome guy:

Yet to hear a modded recto that sounds even half as good as one stock (or boosted with a pedal). Some of them totally remove any trace of what makes a Rectifier what it is.

A lot of hype around the Hermansson recto mods, but they just sound bad to me. Would love to hear a well recorded clip of one that sounds good, I really want to like it.

That Hermansson interests me a lot. That sounds like it adds a Marshall attack/top end to it and if it can still do the Recto low end thing then JFC I need that right now.

I just bought my first recto yesterday - a series 1 rectoverb combo. I know it's not quite the real thing, but I'm still as excited as feck to crank it up.

I've been watching some hermannson clips while gassing and they sound good. I'd like to do the parallel/serial loop mod on mine, and I've debated a getting a bias mod done so I can play with different tubes, but for now I'm just going to play it and enjoy 👍

I just bought my first recto yesterday - a series 1 rectoverb combo. I know it's not quite the real thing, but I'm still as excited as feck to crank it up.