IRDX Core, let's talk about it...

is it true this just adds a static 2nd and 3rd order harmonic (rather than dynamically?) heard something about it just modulating in volume by +/- 0.5dB.

I’m curious but I don’t know how accurate it can be without know the poweramp, volume, speakers etc being used

is it true this just adds a static 2nd and 3rd order harmonic (rather than dynamically?) heard something about it just modulating in volume by +/- 0.5dB.

I’m curious but I don’t know how accurate it can be without know the poweramp, volume, speakers etc being used

I'm not good at analyzing audio signals like that but judging by listening there is some saturation, dynamic "movement" (compression) and eq going on.

Interesting. It introduces a subtle, yet audible, difference - but, to be honest, it just sounds like a vanilla audio exciter to me.

It might be doing other stuff as well, but IRDX is definitely adding harmonics, which are very notable once the "effect" knob goes over 100%. The extra high frequency information makes the tone feel quite fizzy.

Interesting. It introduces a subtle, yet audible, difference - but, to be honest, it just sounds like a vanilla audio exciter to me.

It might be doing other stuff, but IRDX is definitely adding harmonics, which are very notable once the "effect" knob goes over 100%. The extra high frequency information makes the tone feel quite fizzy.

I can see myself using it on some guitar tracks that need to be brought forward a bit more, guitars that are too dark.

Absolutely. Not saying there's no value to it, just that claims about what IRDX does might be a tad overblown.

I'm 99% certain you could get the exact same results using any audio exciter plugin (f.ex. Process.Audio Sugar).