Drummers?

Axe

Roadie
Any drummers in the fold here?

I suddenly got a hair up my hiney and want to learn drums. I'm thinking about an inexpensive electronic kit I could upgrade down the line and I guess I'm looking for suggestions and recommendations for learning sources.

I finally have room in my home studio for a kit. I am an almost complete beginner tho

Full disclosure - Alesis are a sister company of the company I work for, which is BFD Drums.

If you want a reasonably inexpensive kit that will play nicely with software, I'd recommend taking a look at the Alesis Nitro Max.

Hook that up to BFD Player (which comes free with it) or EZDrummer3, or Addictive Drums, or any drum software package really, and you'll be able to start to learn to play patterns and go from there.

One thing I'll say as a non-drummer that's been working with drummers using electronic or hybrid kits for 30+ years: hi-hats, ride and snare are hard to get "right"... Kick and toms are no problem, other cymbals are somewhere in between.

More modern (and expensive) systems seem to do really well these days with snare. The Alesis Strike snare is very sensitive and responds well.

Hi-hats are very fiddly. If you aren't yet a drummer, getting them to go work right could be in impediment to learning.

The best approach we ever used was the addition of low-volume cymbals for hats, ride and 3 crashes. They are very quiet (not much louder than whacking plastic/rubber cymbals).

The cymbals have a built-in mic and run into a small "processing" unit that allows some mixing and EQ options.

Since they are actual cymbals they feel and react as acoustic cymbals would.

Drums were my first instrument and primary instrument for a long time.

Electronic drums all suck. I hate them all.

Playing them is like trying to play guitar on one of these:

robs+xpa+low+wide+2.jpg