Cabinet recommendations for Mesa/Boogie Mark VII head?

gearJunkie

Shredder
Looking to get a. Mark VII head with a Boogie 19 open-back 1x12 and a Boogie 19 Thiele closed-back 1x12.

Any thoughts on how this combination might sound & feel?

Part of my reasoning is that I could also use the cabs with my Triaxis + 2:Ninety rig since the MC90s match the stereo power amp's power output. I believe they would match better than the Marshall 30th Anniversary 6960B stereo 4x12 I've been using since the early 1990's.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Encouragement? Discouragement?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Good questions!

Convenience is probably the biggest reason for considering a pair of 1x12" cabs (size more so than weight). I will still have the 4x12 if needed for a large stage, but I was hoping the Thiele could help with bottom end, and the open-back would behave similar to the Mk VII combo.

Other consideration is that the 4x12 has no internal baffling between the stereo sides resulting in unwanted phase issues (with the 2:90).

Another positive is having more options when recording or playing smaller informal gigs and jam sessions.

Last edited:
I LOVE 4x12s. But I also have grown to LOVE 112s, especially with modeling as it feels like the cabinet form factor that gets out of the way the most. I have never tried a thiele cab but have always heard they sound massive so you might not miss the 412 experience after all; especially with some volume behind it?

I LOVE 4x12s. But I also have grown to LOVE 112s, especially with modeling as it feels like the cabinet form factor that gets out of the way the most. I have never tried a thiele cab but have always heard they sound massive so you might not miss the 412 experience after all; especially with some volume behind it?
So does my proposed configuration get the @JiveTurkey seal of approval?

So does my proposed configuration get the @JiveTurkey seal of approval?
From a few weeks back AKA yes!:
FBV6vGb.jpg