Are keyboard amps/acoustic amps/drum amps FRFRs, and good for modelers?

kartikg3

Roadie
Been looking at budget options for "FRFR" style speakers for practice, rehearsals and small gigs (also as monitors), for a small 4 piece band.

Stumbled upon these.
1000038864.png
1000038863.png
1000038862.png
1000038861.png

Does anyone have any experience with running modelers through these (with cabinet/IR turned ON on their modelers ofcourse)..

The cool thing is that some of these have extra channels for mics and seperate eq and basic reverb for vocals and/or acoustic guitars as well.

Getting a pair of one of these types can be a great budget stereo rig for modeling playthroughs and double up as stereo acoustic+vocal gigs.

TLDR: are keyboard amps/acoustic amps/drum amps FRFRs and good for amp modelers?

I have no experience playing through any of those, but I would think that they would not be much better than a decent PA system. Are you going to be playing only acoustic/semi-acoustic music?

When I started out years ago playing only acoustic, I tried the one-amp-to-do-everything, and failed miserably. I tried an acoustic amp to do my acoustic playing plus electric guitar I was trying to teach myself how to play and I also tried playing acoustic guitar through a Duoverb and a Flextone III with at best average results.

Right now, I play my Stomp XL through the poweramp in my Catalyst 200 and a cheap Monoprice tube amp. It isnt perfect but it sounds really good to my ears and the other guys I play with.

Are you going to be playing only acoustic/semi-acoustic music?
Not at all! In theory these look like they can double as FRFRs, so I was thinking I can use these to play my HX Stomp through, with can/IR turned on.

No, all of these mentioned above will sound awful. Get yourself a decent little powered PA speaker with a decent flat response at the very least.

Short answer is yes.