What kind of music were you playing…

metropolis_4

Shredder
… when you first started getting serious about your playing? And has that style continued to shape your sound?

I was talking with another player at a gig yesterday and he told me his theory that, whatever style you were playing when you first started getting serious about playing, sort of imprints itself on you, and becomes a core part of what makes you sound like you.

Kind of like how core memories work in the move Inside Out.

I was telling him I wish I could play jazz better, but my jazz always sounds like country. When I think about it, I started playing guitar as my fun outlet while studying jazz drums. It was my escape from the hard work of music school and percussion.

But then a great gig landed in my lap to play guitar for a country band (how this happened is a whole other story). This was the first time I ever played guitar professionally, and it was the first time I ever really took guitar playing seriously; as something more than just a fun diversion. I dug in deep and I grew more as a player than I ever had before.

I’ve only played one country gig in the past 10 years, but still that style has stuck with me and colored everything I play with a bit of country. It’s like it’s permanently woven into the fabric of me as a musician.

I was just learning Gilmour licks and noodling along to my favorite songs, which were pretty much only Floyd and maybe some AIC back then. I think the shift from “He’s had a guitar for a couple years and loves it” to “He’s a lifer” was when dad agreed to buy me a new amp if I learned a Hellecasters tune, start to finish, note for note and by ear. That’s the first time I ever sat down and looked at it as ‘work’ and both dad and I learned some things about myself with that bet.