Stoptail bridges; do you wrap around?

DrewJD82

Staff member
I’m still learning my preferences with a ToM-style bridge with a stoptail and hadn’t tried wrapping the strings around the stoptail until last night. I read about it initially, curious why people did it and found many claimed it reduced tension on the strings but few said anything about the tonal/sustain aspects. I have to agree after doing it, you can look at the break angle of the strings as they reach the saddles and see that wrapping around doesn’t create as steep of an angle-

D98285FF-CC63-4774-8222-C160D7151AEA.jpeg

I was slightly concerned that the tension would be too loose, as I’m using 10-52’s in drop C/D standard and there’s not a whole lot of tension to begin with. As soon as I had it tuned up and started playing, I immediately realized how Zakk Wylde gets that perfectly even, wide vibrato; all his guitars are wraparounds. Next time I change strings on the Orville I’m going to do the same thing. The majority of my setups on my own guitars are an effort to give the perfect string tension and it’s always great learning new ways to manipulate it, like I realized I can do so by introducing neck relief.

How do you set yours up?

E6CF9884-9136-40A6-BEDF-2EC577ADF351.jpeg

Damn, I was just about to change the strings on my singlecut!
I want it as slinky as possible, I want to be able to just touch the strings.
So, putting Elixirs super light 09-42, adding some neck releif and wraparound it is!

I have one LP wrapped like that, and the rest strung normally.

I can’t tell if it feels “slinkier” as some claim, or if it’s placebo. It also allows me to slam the stoptail to the body, and some say that helps create better sustain - but again - I haven’t really “noticed.”

But that particular LP does play super nice, so I’m leaving it. Why mess with a good thing. But none of my experience with it caused me to think I need to go restring the rest of my LPs the same way…

Just my $0.02.