NAD Assembly Required - Build Complete

That's what I'm thinking too. Since the AC from the wall is 115V instead of the ideal 120V then everything will be slightly lower. Plus I'm sure he did all the readings based on EU voltage so there would likely be some differences there too.

This is my first amp build though and I have little practical experience. So it never hurts to triple check.

I made a bunch of progress today to the point where I'm nearing completion. Pretty much the whole preamp board is done minus a couple of turrets where resistors connect the board to the tube sockets. I also wired up all the front panel controls. All that's left is to finish wiring up the V2 & V3 sockets, connect the preamp board to the power supply board, and wire the PT to the board and jacks. And of course go through everything to make sure all the solder joints are good, make sure I didn't mis-wire anything, and do some final checks. If all goes well I may be able to finish it off tomorrow.

1690065916670.png

1690065940837.png

1690065982169.png

Well shit..... I have a working amp! Finished up all the wiring this morning, did all final checks and fired it up with no troubles. Of course I'm going to be a little biased, but it sounds pretty damn good. It gives that really nice and thick power tube saturation at manageable volumes. It definitely has the classic "British" rock & roll sound. I messed around with a couple of boost and overdrive pedals and was able to get into some decently heavy crunch, but it's not going to make it into full high gain territory. Overall I'm quite pleased with the way it sounds.