Modelling Microphone Systems

signalpath

Groupie
The latest SOS has a review of Universal Audio Sphere DLX & Sphere LX Modelling Microphone Systems. This is a lighter version of the 2017 review of the Townsend Labs Sphere L22 which since UA acquired Townsend is pretty much the same thing. This month’s review sums up by saying ‘When modelling is this good, it gets harder and harder to justify spending top dollar on vintage.’ which is a pretty ringing endorsement.

Reviews are always useful but it would be interesting to hear of real field expertise (that’s absolutely not me) and what you think pros and cons of the technology are and where it is headed.

I’ve got zero experience with this but am definitely at the point where I’ve got enough faith in modeling to trust it and would most likely go in this direction before investing the same money/more money into really nice mics.

I use a Townsend Sphere L22 quite extensively. The 47 version in the Sphere compared to the WA47 Warm audio tube mic, I cant hear much a difference if any at all. That's either a ringing endorsement for Warm Audio or Townsend or both. Prior to that, the Sony 8000 model was my go to, but I've been exploring more and more.

Make sure you have at least a stereo interface with stepped inputs, or inputs that can be linked stereo. It's doable if you don't, but it's designed for this

I have been curious about those "systems" too. Don't Slate and Antelope also make modeling mics?

I have been curious about those "systems" too. Don't Slate and Antelope also make modeling mics?
I used slates mic. I have both of them. Honestly it's a toy in comparison to the Townsend/UA. Directly compared both.