Lead Tone Vs Rhythm Tone

Byrdman

Roadie
I'm pretty new to playing lead stuff and only in my home. A buddy that plays acoustic and I are going to start playing to see if we can put something together with a couple of other guys that supposedly sing and play drums.

I hear about making your lead tones "cut through" and I am familiar when it works and when it doesn't. I have seen a lot of bar bands play over the years and have heard when the lead tones gets covered up by bass and drums during the solo and fills usually when they sound too similar to the rhythm.

Can someone tell me generally how this works? What is the difference between your rhythm tone and lead tone, again in general or is it the same and just boosted? I play HB guitars, so no need to go into detail on what needs to be done on a Strat or other single coil.

It's best if other "competing" instruments are pulled down in the mix during a guitar solo section..

By "competing", I mean keys, vocals, accordions, other guitars.. anything that occupies the same frequency range as your guitar doing the solo.

:farley

There are no hard rules - other than you want to be heard during your solo. But it makes a difference if it's a 3 pc, 4 pc, etc. band. It also helps if the other players adjust dynamically to assist in the soloist shining through. Tone wise, using a mid boost of sorts helps cut through, or changing an amp channel that accentuates the gain and frequencies you want to hear during your solo. Or, only using your guitar's volume? Many different ways and it is song dependent too.

It's best if other "competing" instruments are pulled down in the mix during a guitar solo section..

By "competing", I mean keys, vocals, accordions, other guitars.. anything that occupies the same frequency range as your guitar doing the solo.

:farley