Educate me on Wizard III Necks (and guitar necks in general)

kartikg3

Roadie
Would like to hear the subject-matter-experts' views on guitar necks here.

1. What are the different kinds / types of guitar necks out there?
2. Which factors, in your opinion, affect and/or favour different styles of playing, and why? (ex. I heard thin + wide necks with Jumbo frets are great for "shredding". Why is that?)

For Context:

Styles of Music I play:
Blues, Rock, Metal (Black Sabbath, Deep Purple (Blackmore), Metallica, Mark Knopfler, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai)

What got me looking into this:
I am specifically looking into an Ibanez RG450DXB / Jem Junior as a "shred"-upgrade, because ever since I started playing guitar, I have always wanted to dive bomb and other whammy-bar antics (whether they are in fashion now or not, I don't care, I love that stuff). And I have always struggled with certain kinds of speed techniques, for which I am thinking, apart from practice, a Wizard neck may help.

My guitar-owning background:
In my 2 decades of Guitar playing, I have played and owned 2 acoustic guitars, a classical guitar, 2 electric guitars (both strat-style). My current main guitar is a Godin SD22 Maple neck H/S/S electric. It has a shorter scale (24 3/4) and a radius of 12" I believe.

Edit: I have a regular sized palm, but with shorter digits, and inwards bent pinkies, further stifling my reach.

Last edited:
I like the Wizard III; it's thicker than an original Wizard neck

The original Wizard is cool for single note stuff but for me personally if I have to play a song with barre chords on an original Wizard neck my hand and forearm will be cramping up bad halfway through it; the Wizard just doesn't have the thickness to properly fill your hand

First, I love the Wizard III neck, it’s not far off from a 90’s JEM neck at all. Maybe a little more rounded on the shoulders/back, but not by much. It’s like a Wizard neck that doesn’t feel like a twig.