Bass Strings.

i used to use the dunlop ones because they were the cheapest and i only really just sub on bass at times.

now that i am a fender artist, i just buy their strings, as they are rebranded d'addarios, and they are dirt cheap for me.

NYXL's because they did on a guitar what I wanted to hear in a bass with the low end snap. But what's clear and tight for me might be thin and lacking oomph for someone else! :rofl

45-105 are like the 10's of bass. I have a scalloped P-Bass that is dropped a whole step with 40-100's. It sounds and feels pretty good. :bag

Elixir. Sound fresh and consistent even when I haven‘t used my bass for a couple of weeks. I am using Stainless Steel 45-105 for D Standard tuning.

Found some Dave Eellefson Signature Strings on markdown! :LOL:

No kidding. Better clear my browser cache, too!

I use the AustinBuddy bass presets so I asked him what strings Scott Nelson who helped him tune the presets uses. It was GHS Bass Boomers. I got them and like the sound. They killed my fingers when they were brand new :headbang

What gauge are you running on your 4 string, Drew? You do have a 4 stringer, don't you?

No clue what’s on it now, I wanna say 45-110? I can’t remember. It’s a lighter/standard gauge I threw on because I was tracking a song in standard tuning. Normally I keep that 4-string in CGCG and used a custom gauge set from String Joy to do so, but I’ll have to look up the gauges, I ordered a couple packs 2 years ago but can’t for the life of me remember what they are. I want to say the low E is like a 115 or something and worked PERFECTLY in C.

Will do. :beer

I had an Ibanez SR305 years back and sold it. It wasn't remarkable. Bass player in the band
I play with has a Schecter Custom 5 string, plays great and sounds really good with active
pups and active EQ. Not sure what exact model it is. Nice bass, though.

I suspect a 5 string is a bridge I won't cross for a long time. I can't see myself venturing into A
like @Iron1 does. :rawk