Andy Eagle ( Guitar repair tech for 30 years )

Eagle

Shredder
Hello everyone.
A few words of introduction;
I have been a repair tech full time for 30 years and on the side of a proper job before that. I also work with collectors, insurance and auction houses authenticating vintage and ex rock star gear.
Basically if you have an issue I have more than likely seen it before.
I firmly advocate that there is objectively good and bad in both music (not for this column) and musical instruments and it is far from just opinion. I base what I write on my experience and empirical data if available and have no affiliation with any companies as this would compromise my ability to say what I find and this is why people come to me in the first instance. I also call myself a repair tech not a luthier because I deal mostly with a diagnostic approach to solving peoples problems and not scratch building .

So as the title says;

Ask me anything!

A quick gratuitous vintage shot to get started;
D874ACE2-EEDB-4157-AA6F-8AF5EF170E04.jpeg

64 ES335 with factory Bigsby.

Hi @Eagle! 👋

In over 3 decades of work, what is the most satisfying repair that you can recall? I'm guessing that there must be a few that make you smile when you think about them?

Hi @Eagle! 👋

In over 3 decades of work, what is the most satisfying repair that you can recall? I'm guessing that there must be a few that make you smile when you think about them?
That's a really difficult one. It's probably between when I get a great guitar that just needs a basic set up to completely transform it and the odd headstock break that ended up practically invisible .

@Eagle Did you ever make an empirically-based diagnosis that was either very surprising to you, or runs counter to perceived guitar wisdom?

(perhaps both!)

This thread is definitely overdue.