Started guitar lessons on Thursday …

I’m a basic old school metal player. Ratt, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Celtic Frost type of stuff. Play power chords and bar chords all around.

Now I’m playing seventh chords with more interesting voicings and man, my hands are sore from these odd stretches. 😂

I’ve been playing for 40 years or so and never heard that leaving out the root if its above the 7th keeps the chord from getting ugly. Makes sense, I think.

Last edited:
I’m a basic old school metal player. Ratt, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Celtic Frost type of stuff. Play power chords and bar chords all around.

Now I’m playing seventh chords with more interesting voicings and man, my hands are sore from these odd stretches. 😂

I’ve been playing for 40 years or so and never heard that leaving out the root if its above the 7th keeps the chord from getting ugly. Makes sense, I think.
Way to go! One should be commended for making earnest effort towards improvement. Those aches will go away, I can appreciate your pain.

I too am making a transition to expand my harmonic and melodic vocabulary. I am focusing on nailing transitions between those more difficult fingerings. It is difficult work, and hard going, but I feel it will be worth it in time.

So, you aren't alone, and don't give up!🤘

As with metal ... metronome is your tool of choice.

Help! I played “jazz chords”. Call an ambulance!
Honestly, I have played odd voicings my whole playing life, could never really do just power chords all the time. And first position gets old ...so I learned my own inversions and such ...and more modern metal required a much deeper toolbox....but now I can't quite pick as fast and accurate as I once could due to tendinitis.... thus the pivot.

Haha!