First gig with my Fractal FM3

Ledvedder

Groupie
I had my first gig with my FM3 last night. I've been gigging for 26 years now, using various tube amps. So I've been very skeptical about gigging with the FM3. I took my 20 watt Marshall head and cabinet with me, just in case. I ran output 2 out before the cab block into the effects return of the Marshall, and output 1 straight to our PA. After about 2 songs, I quickly turned off my Marshall head, since I was getting a great mix out of our stage monitors.

All in all, I'd say the first gig was a success, although there are a few "issues" that I'll have to alleviate before our next gig.
  1. Navigating with the 3 footswitches tends to be stressful at times. Especially mid-song, when you need to engage or bypass something. I ha e an FC-6, but didn't bring it since the area we set up in was pretty small.
  2. I used mostly 1 preset all night, with 8 scenes. All scenes used @2112 LT TV Mix 7 user cab, cut to 80hz and 7500hz in the preamp tab. For a clean-ish tone, I used the Band Commander. This scene sounded pretty good, perhaps a bit bassy, but I'll dial that out.
  3. For a dirty tone, I used the Dirty Shirley. Although I had this scene set with the same level as the Band Commander scene, it seemed to get lost in the mix. Especially during songs were I switched between clean and drive. I'll have to figure out what needs to be adjusted to get these more equal.
  4. For leads, I used the same Dirty Shirley amp block, but engaged the boost (TS808 mod at 8dB), and the fat. I also engaged a 3dB parametric EQ, with 1dB boosts around 600hz, 1500hz, and 2800hz. Along with a mono BBD delay set at 1/4 note, mix around 15%, feedback around 25%, and 5dB ducking. This scene seemed a but too pokey and possibly a bit loud. Also a bit washed out maybe? Not sure which setting(s) affected this. I'll have to experiment.
  5. I have an edge of breakup kinda scene using the Class A 30w Brilliant amp. This sounded excellent!